This page was last updated on
.

Prof. Sullivan's Math 530 Homepage

Textbook: Introduction to Topology, by James Munkres, 2nd Edition.

Syllabus: We cover sections 12-37, 41, 48, 51-55. If time permits we will do additional topics from 56-60, 67-78.

Homework will be collected weekly, but you may be asked to present some problems in class. There will be a midterm and a final. Grades: homework is 30%, midterm is 30%, final is 40%.

Homework is to be done individually, not in groups. You should discuss and compare you homeworks after you get them back. Do not search the internet looking for solutions. I will know if you do this. I will give you an F if you turn in work that is not yours.


I will post homework assignments here.

Set 0. Not to be turned in, but recommended for review.
  • §1: 1, 2, 9.
  • §2: 1, 2.
  • §3: 3, 6, 13.
  • §5: 5.
  • §7: 1, 5. (This section is very important.)
  • §9: 2, 4.
  • §10: 1.
  • §11: 1, 4, 8. Set 1. Due Friday, August 30.
  • §9: 6.
  • §10: 5.
  • §11: 5.
  • §13: 2, 7. Set 2. Due Friday, Sept 6.
  • §16: 1, 4, 8.
  • §17: 2, 3, 6, 11, 12, 13, 19.
  • §18: 2, 6, 7a, 10. Set 3. Due Friday, Sept 13.
  • §19: 2, 7.
  • §20: 4, 5, 8.
  • §21: 10. Set 4. Due Friday, Sept 20.
  • §22: 2, 3.
  • §23: 4, 8.
  • §24: 2. 10. Set 5. Due Friday, Sept 27.
  • §25: 4, 9. (Bonus points for 9!)
  • §26: 4, 5, 6.
  • §27: 6abcde.
  • §28: 1. Set 6. Due Friday, Oct 4.
  • §29: 1, 10.
  • §30: 1, 11, 12.
  • §31: 1, 2.
  • §32: 3, 4. Set 7. Due Friday, Oct 11.
  • §33: 7.
  • §34: 1, 2.
  • §35: 1, 9abc. (Bonus points for 9! It is used it 531.) Set 8. Due Friday, Oct 18. Monday Oct 28.
  • §36: None.
  • §37: None.
  • §41: 2a.
  • §48: 3, 6. Set 9. Due Friday, Oct 25. Friday Nov 1.
  • §51: 1, 3b.
  • §52: 2.
  • §53: 6a. Set 10. Due Friday, Nov 1. Friday Nov 8.
  • §54: 8.
  • §55: 1.
  • §58: 2a-l. Set 11. Due Friday, Nov 8. Friday Nov 15.
  • §59: 1.
  • §60: 1, 5.
  • §67: 4ab. Set 12. Due Friday, Nov 15. Friday Nov 1.
  • §68: 1
  • §69: none
  • §70: 1ab Set 13. Due Friday, Nov 22. Friday Nov 1.
  • §71: 1abc, 3
  • §72: 2
  • §73: 1abcd, 2 (extra credit) Set 14. Due Friday, Dec 6. Friday Nov 1.
  • §74: 1, 2
  • §75: 2
  • §76: none
  • §77: nore

  • Optional reading

    Tutorial on Axiomatic Set Theory
    
    Axiomatic Set Theory
    
    Units Circles in R2
    
    Summary of Section 30
    
    Summary of Sections 31 & 32
    
    Urysohn's Lemma